HELP! YZ450F won't start after valve adjust

dkortje

Sponsoring Member
Aug 30, 2002
I love my 450f, but my greatest fear has been working on it. I am new to 4-strokes and feel very lost. I decided to adjust my valves this weekend. When I put it back together, it wouldn't start. I think I probably did something wrong with the timing chain, so here are my questions:

1. The service manual says TDC is when "I" mark on rotor is aligned with pointer. Is this the "I" after the "H" or is this the punch mark on the rotor?

2. Once you have TDC, how do you know which direction to place cams, ie. since a four stroke has two complete revolutions for each spark, how do you know if the punch on the cams should be "out" or "in" for the particular part of the cycle :eek:

This is all very confusing to me, I tried a search without much help. This is the funnest bike I have ever ridden, but boy, my old 125 was much easier to work on.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
dkortje said:
1. The service manual says TDC is when "I" mark on rotor is aligned with pointer. Is this the "I" after the "H" or is this the punch mark on the rotor?

Yes. it's the mark that looks like an I.

2. Once you have TDC, how do you know which direction to place cams, ie. since a four stroke has two complete revolutions for each spark, how do you know if the punch on the cams should be "out" or "in" for the particular part of the cycle :eek:

If you look at the cams from the left side of the engine the exhaust cam should be pointed at about the 10 o'clock position and the intake cam should be at about 2 o'clock.

The top dot on each cam gear should be at 12 o'clock, and there should be 12 cam chain pins between the top dots on the cam gears..

nikki

Moto Junkie
Apr 21, 2000
Next time before you remove the cams, put the bike at TDC and use a paint marker to mark where the chain lines up with the cam punch marks. Makes reassembly a little easier.