johnkdx220

Feb 6, 2003
Regularly, I witness guys that start their two stroke engine and immediately rev the engine. The engines misfires constantly and the guys seem to think that its a good excuse to twist the throttle even more. I'm no mechanic but I have a feeling that reving a cold two stroke engine is a bad thing (right?).

What is your warm-up proceedure for your kdx?

Here is my procedure: I let it run idle, choke on for about 30 seconds, then idle for another 2 minutes (I take this time to stretch my aging body.. ). I jump on the bike and will take it slow for a while until the engine responds without misfiring. Yep, there's a lot of blue smoke during the warm-up... I prefer the decarbonise everything when the engine is warmed-up.

rethnal

~SPONSOR~
Jul 14, 2002
Pretty much the same way you do... 'cept I only choke it to get it running and take it off after a few seconds. Then I let it sit and idle while I finish putting on my gear.... usually about 3 to 5 minutes. I walk over and twist it every now and then while idling until I get a good crisp rev on her. Then... I ride it around to finish the warm up until it responds the way it should. Then I rip!

KDX's are very cold blooded in my experience and require a long warmup period. IMO.

Last edited:

dsndblm

Jul 12, 2003
You are right johnkdx220. It is not good to rev a cold 2 stroke or any other engine for that matter. There are more physics going on inside that cold engine as it is warming than I will ever understand :clue:

I saw a guy seize a nearly new KX 250 from doing just what you described.

I start mine, let it run with the choke on for 30 seconds or so, let it idle for another couple of minutes while I am getting my gear on. I am lucky enought to be able to hit the desert from my house, I take it slow down my street, the bike is pretty well warmed up by time I reach the start of my riding spot. The total time is probably 5 minutes.

wibby

Mod Ban
Mar 15, 2003