How to read a Roll/JART Chart, and what’s really g

Timr

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 26, 1999
Open these two links in additional windows then feel free to participate in this discussion.

http://sera.dirtrider.net/Images/Roll1.jpg
http://sera.dirtrider.net/Images/Roll2.jpg
Note: these are fairly large image files. High speed conection is advised. If you have low speed conection, have patience, download the images and save them to your hard drive so you can refer to them as this thread grows.

I’m trying to accomplish two things with this thread:

1. Help new enduro riders understand how to interpret the information that they receive at a race
2. Get some feedback from other enduro racers about how the roll/Jart chart and route sheets vary from region to region and series to series.

Ok, first let me qualify myself. I am by no means an expert on timekeeping or enduro racing. I’ve been racing enduros consistently since the ’94 season. I’m currently a mid-pack “B” rider. I usually finish anywhere from 3rd-7th in 200B, and about 17th-25th in Overall B. This in not the gospel of “Time Keeping” according to TimR, so please chime in and add your .02 cents worth.

The two above links are a “roll chart” that I purchased for $2 bucks at the sign up of the Meridian SERA enduro about 4 months ago. I remember when I was loading my roll chart holder at the Gulfport race, that I thought it would be fun to post a roll chart on DRN for a discussion, so I threw the roll of paper in my gear bag instead of tossing it into the trash. I finally got around to getting it scanned in so we can now discuss it.

So, what happens at the start of an enduro? Well, you roll up to the start line where they are counting down and starting the rows on each minute. You’ve either already set your clocks/computers to key time, or you are waiting to set a countdown on your clock/computer based on what’s happening at the start.