I little help with my suspension.

james.keaton

May 8, 2009
I recently bought my 89 kdx 200, and it is my first bike. I have been riding for about 2 months, but it is time to replace the seals in the forks. I want to set the suspension up for my weight and trail riding, but I was also wondering if the 89-94 shocks are still a good all around shock or if I should/could swap them for a KX's suspension or something similar. If I should stick with the stockers, what springs/spring rates and what all pieces do I need to upgrade the stock one for my weight. Ofcourse I am doing the rear as well. I weigh 275 and I am 6'2". Thanks for your help.

glad2ride

Jul 4, 2005
The stock springs are .30 Kg/mm. Race Tech's spring rate calculator says you need .50 Kg/mm. The stiffest they sell for those forks are .46. That would be close enough for trail riding.

As far as swapping out, you may want to look into KX forks, clamps, wheel, axle and front brake system. Either way, you will need stiffer springs than either had stock. You won't get nearly as much benefit from trying to make a KX shock work. Getting it to fit is only some of the problem. Just skip it, is my advice. Get a proper stiffness spring (RT says 5.4), and have it inspected and the oil changed. If it has not been serviced regularly, count on it needing to be rebuilt. It is 20 years old.

Good luck.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
remember, front = forks and rear = shock. I think that's part of the confusion. Glad is talking about he rear shock, and I'm pretty sure you are asking about KX forks. 95+ KX forks would be an incredible upgrade from the stock KDX units, since they have full compression and rebound adjustment, have less deflection becuase they are USD's, and are just an all around better design. To do the swap though you would need a complete front end. Forks, triples, front wheel and front brakes.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000