Jetting kdx for winter use (-15)

zurg

Feb 8, 2005
Have a stock 220 and want to use it during cold weather on snowmobile trail is there anyone know what jetting i could use or which one would be a good start ? :bang:

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999
Sorry that you didn't get better replies, I ride my bikes all winter but never go out in colder then 20F. I don't rejet ether as I just cruise around. Asking for trouble.... maybe, but I've been doing it since 1976 so I guess it works for me. OK guys give me hell and answer this guys question :nener: ;)

NYkdxer

Feb 21, 2003
I don't know what the laws in Quebec are, but in the US it is illegal to ride bikes or atvs on snowmobile trails in the winter. Maybe its different up north.... If you do ride in the cold weather, try going up 1 size on the main and lower the needle clip 1 position (thereby raising the needle). Be sure to let your bike warm up longer than u would on warm days. If it cuts out or bogs, u haven't got the right jets in it. Just keep playing around with it and good luck.

seancza

Apr 22, 2003
assuming your bike is jetted properly for the summer you might consider upsizing the main and pilot two sizes to start with, the worse that can happen is that it will be rich

warm it up slowly until the rads and hoses feel warm and take it for a slow ride to warm up the transmission oil

idahotrails

Oct 19, 2003