freekstyle

Jan 10, 2005
Hey everyone, I just bought a 03 yzf450. I havent got a chance to ride it much, just around the dealer parking lot. But even doing that I was very excited about the power. I cant believe the low end and the tall first gear ( feels like a street bike ready for a mx track) I just wanted to share my excitment with the rest of you, I've been looking for a good used 250 or 450 four stroke bike for a while ( 4 months) and I finnaly found one that is clean, well kept and in my price range. The bike looks asome, I swear it was hardly ridden at all. I guess it pays to take your time when purchasing a used bike. Anyway, Im new to thumpers and if any one has suggestions about starting, tunning, or just wants to share in my good deal on a clean used bike follow up.

Thanks.

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
I recommend some fat bars. If you ride mx, select a tire suitable for your areas soil conditions. If you ride trails, put a 50 tooth rear sprocket on. The lower gearing will help you in tight stuff and keep your rpms in a manageable range.
The 03 has a known problem, referred to the "notchy clutch syndrome". Not every bike had the problem but there is an easy fix if your bike has not had the repair done. Look at the clutch actuation arm located just above the counter sprocket, if it appears to have been cut and rewelded, then likely the repair has been made. If you are unable to determine if the repair has been made and notice a surging when you let out on the clutch, contact me and I will get you the info for the repair. Parts will cost less than $50. I had the repair done at the dealer for free when I bought the bike new.
I now run the Rekluse Z-Start autoclutch and love it. Click their link on the left side of this page.