budpat105

Jan 31, 2010
I'm a newbie to dirt riding and hare scrambles, just rode my first 2 in the mud in central IL. I have KDX2 lowering links on my bike (2002 KDX200)and the forks slid up in triple trees about 1". It seems when I'm turning in muddy areas the front end wants to go straight, may be just me or the conditions but didn't know if the front not being lower as much as the rear end would have any effect on this. I'm really thinking I just need more riding time. Whats everyone's thoughts on this. Thank you

mechanos

Jun 20, 2009
Had the same problem with the stock tires on my KDX. Replaced stock tires with more agressive mx tires and it made a world of difference, much more stable thru mud. You could start with just the front as I did (I quickly changed the back also).

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009
That's a pretty radical geometry change, FWIW. Maybe that's a proven mod, so see what others running it have experienced. I haven't heard of it, but I'm no expert.

On the other hand, its hard to ride mud under any circumstances. I can usually get decent grip with the front if it is really just mud, when it hits the first diagonal rock or tree root or rut, wham, down I go. Or if it gets completely clogged with that sticky and thick Ohio clay, its point the bike, whack the throttle, and hope it works out...

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009