KDX200 Maintenance Questions

TaxPhd

Dec 29, 2003
Thanks to everyone that has responded to my previous questions. I really appreciate the help.

As I said before, I am no mechanic, but I would really like to learn to do this stuff on my own. I have a factory service manual ordered, and I am sure that will clear up some of my questions, but until then . . .

1) Oil changes. The procedure described in the owners manual is pretty simple. Even a Klutz like me should be able to handle it. However, there is no mention of an oil filter. Does the bike not have one? The manual recommends 10w-40 oil. Should I use motorcycle specific oil or is automobile oil OK to use? Any particular brand you would recommend? The maintenance chart in the manual indicates that the oil should be changed at 600 mile intervals, but I read on these forums about guys changing oil every 2-3 rides. How frequently should I change the oil?

2) Air Filter Cleaning. What kind of air filter oil is recommended? Reassembly is described using all purpose grease. Any particular kind?

3) Brake Fluid. I am getting a small amount of fluid leaking from under the cap of the front resevoir. Is this normal? If not, what is the fix?

4) General lubing. Do motorcycles have lube points like cars, that require a grease gun? What do you recommend for general lubrication?

5) Pre-Mix. I am using Yamalube 2-R (recommended by the shop where I bought the bike) mixed at 32:1 (recommended by the manual). Would something else be better?

Sorry for all the newbie questions, and thanks for the help.

Scott

cicone

Sep 29, 2003