Aug 8, 2005
I’m having a tough time deciding what to do. Here is the situation:

I’m 28 years old, 5’11” and 190lbs. I’ve been riding off and on (mostly off) for several years. My first bike was a 1983 CR250 money pit, and I’ve had three 125s since then. I have one good summer of racing experience in the beginner class on my last bike, a 2002 CR125. I had lots of fun, posted some decent results for me (no wins, but several “podiums”), and improved a lot that summer. I got burnt out, though, sold my bike and “retired” early in the summer of 2004. I recently came out of retirement (I love the sport and just can’t quit) and bought a 1997 CR250 from the original owner. The bike has been very well cared for, is in excellent condition, and came loads of aftermarket parts and accessories. Some of these aftermarket parts included a fresh 300cc kit (with no exhaust valve) and a Gnarly pipe. The power is very strong and abrupt down low and is hard to control. I really don’t like the power delivery at all. A dealer that I trust told me that converting it back to a 250 would help greatly in this area, and suggested I find parts on that auction site to make the conversion. I have the stock bore cylinder (with exhaust valve assembly) and head, but I figure only the exhaust valve is salvageable. I’ve found the new parts from other outlets for about $500. Also, the suspension is sprung very stiff and needs to be resprung and revalved for me. I figured this would cost an additional $500. So, that’s $1000 I need to spend on this bike.