James51381

Mar 17, 2002
I have only been riding for a few years. I mostly go to Hollister in CA. my question is about putting my weight on the pegs and do i use the handle bar or lean. not all the turns are really sharp, some are almost sweeping, so what peg should i plant? i always feel when i put weight on the outside peg, that i will go outside and go the opposite way of the trail. do i turn with the handle bar or with leaning. i have some experience with street riding. thats why i am asking. its so much easier to get my bike to turn left if i push on my left peg (inside peg). but i will wash out the back end. when i do put weight on the outside peg i feel i have to almost lift up the handlebar with my outside hand, and push down on the inside grip, instead of turning the handle bar (push and pull) I am sure you all are tired of this subject but I am still unclear.
thanks a lot
james

CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
Are you familiar with the term “counter steering”? Counter steering is the ONLY way a motorcycle will turn. It is something you have been doing since you learned to ride a bicycle but understanding the process will make you a MUCH better rider.

At very slow speeds you steer a motorcycle by turning the handlebar in the direction we wish to go. You can only do that at speeds of less than about 5 MPH. At any higher speed you do the exact opposite, whether you realize it or not. For example, assuming you want to turn to the right, you are actually pushing on the right handlebar. This results in the front wheel leaning to the right and, as a result of the lean of the wheel, a turn to the right. This is counter-steering.