q2418130103p

Mar 31, 2007
Hello all,

I recently decided to rebuild my top end on my 1991 cr125r. Its my first time rebuilding anything and im alittle stuck. I am now at the point where I am putting the negine back together and heres where my problems lie

1) I bought a wiesco piston that is pakaged as a replacement for the stock piston and labled 90-91 cr125. When I opened the new ring that came with it, it says that the piston ring will damage chrome plated cylinders, is mine chrome plated? If it is, why would wiesco package an imcomplatable piston rign?

2) the piston does not have the word IN written on it, it instead has an arrow, I installed the piston with the arrow pointing to the rear of the bike. this puts the notched out side of the piston facing the front of the bike, is this correct?

3) the gasket kit that I bought claims to be OEM direct replacement. The gaskest sizes are spot on, the head gasket is perfect, but the gasket for te cylinder feels almost like rubber coated cardboard.

4) the piston came with isntructions that say i need to file the butts of the ring. should i have to do this with a stock clyider? I installed the piston into the cylinder and it seems to fit percetly, the cylinder is currently back on, but its just sitting there, not bolted down yet.

5) the piston came with instructions that also said the cylinder MUST be honed to remove the glaze so the ring seals better. I didnt do this because this cylinder is bascily perfect. I took it to a service center and they advised not to bother doing anything to the cylinder.

i think thats it... can anyone offer me some help with some of these?

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006
According to your description, your piston is installed backwards.

The cylinder does not need to be honed.

You can't judge a gasket's sealing properties by the way it feels between your fingers. It is probably the correct material and will work fine.