Kawidude

D'oh!
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 23, 2000
Metallica's new album, St. Anger, was originally scheduled for release on Tuesday of next week. I guess in an effort to thwart internet piracy, they decided to release it today instead.

I know there are some mixed thoughts about Metallica on this board, but I went and picked up the new album today at lunch. I'll admit I have been disappointed with their last few albums, but St. Anger is nothing like those. All I can say is they have definitely rediscovered the ferocious attitude that made them great in the early years. I only got a chance to listen to a few tracks, but I think a lot of people will be surprised at how heavy it is. My wife became a 'tallica fan when she started listening to the "kinder, gentler Metallica." I have a feeling she may very well hate this album.

The production value, at times, sounds a little thin to me. Almost like it was recorded in someone's garage...but I'm not a professional audio tech or anything.

Even though the last few albums sucked, they have definitely evolved into a pretty cool sound. I tried to continue disliking Metallica (Lars is reason enough) but I gave this album a chance and it hasn't disappointed yet.

The other cool thing is that when I opened up the CD there were two CD's in the package. One is the standard album and the other is a CD with each song performed during their rehearsals. Pretty cool. Anyway, if you pick up the album, let us know what you think. :aj:

BigBore

Jun 16, 1999
Went down to Fred Meyer's (northwesterners will know what I'm talking about) on my lunch break today. Sure enough, there they were.....dozens of copies of St. Anger lined up on the rack. I grabbed one, headed to the checkout. The cashier said they had just put them out on the rack about 10 minute beforehand.

Out in the parking lot I popped the cd in my truck stereo.....