Oil spitting out of the pipe.

skos

Jan 24, 2009
Oil spitting out of the pipe.

I have a lot of oil coming out of my muffler. I am thinking I have 1 of 2 issues.

I may have over mixed the oil or my silencer is packed & need replacing.

What do you guys think?

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009
I am far from an expert like some of these guys, but I have the same issue on my RM.
From what I understand, it could be any of the following:

Carb jetted wrong
Mix too thick (notice I didnt say rich)
Leaky crank seal.

Do you notice your gear oil is disappearing?

skos

Jan 24, 2009
gear oil or engine oil. have not checked gear oil but I change the engine oil about every 3rd ride.

It ran with out any issues last year. I think I may have mixed on the heavy or non rich side on my 1st tank this year

2stroker_88

Jan 3, 2009
Hey, sounds like you need to rejet. Oil coming from the silencer is very common with all 2 strokes, i have had the same deal on my '01 YZ 125. Repacking the silencer will also help.

skos

Jan 24, 2009
2stroker_88 said:
Hey, sounds like you need to rejet. Oil coming from the silencer is very common with all 2 strokes, i have had the same deal on my '01 YZ 125. Repacking the silencer will also help.

rejet the carb?
has anyone tried to clean the jets?

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
Make drastic changes to the jetting circuits 1 at a time, so you can tell the difference. A little lean should not harm the engine for a few seconds to tell how it runs. Also, if it makes no change you know you have a problem elsewhere. Jetting is easy, work arounds are useless. Buy a jetting kit, or 3 each way. They are worth their weight in gold for an investment.There are 2 main brands, thats it! http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=159938&highlight=spanky's+jetting+guide

PRM

Mar 19, 2009