Luke Davey

Mar 8, 2002
What is the effiency of a pipe on a 2 stroke, in terms of scavenging the cylinder. What would the volume of the mixture in the cylinder after the ports are closed at room temp and pressure. Is the volume more than the volume of the cylinder.

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000
Now i am no expert but i have remembered a little info, where the volumetric efficiency of a good race engine can exceed 100% ie it can stuff more than the volume of air into the space it occupies.

jmics19067

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 22, 2002
This is what I believe to be true. On an average two stroke motorcycle engine the basics would be ; After top dead center above the piston rings, combustion, piston moving downwards below piston crankcase fuel air charge starting to compress---> exhaust port opens starting to let exhaust well exhaust----->intake ports open all of your compressed crankcase fuel air mixture is being pushed up thru the transfer ports also helping to push out exhaust-----> bottom dead center------>piston moving upwards closing intake ports on top of rings and pulling fresh fuel air mixture into crankcase below rings------> as the piston is closing off the exhaust port it is trying to push some more fuel air out of it and if you have a properly tuned expansion chamber for the rpm you are at, it will send a signal back from them funny shaped cones forcing the the fuel/ air mixture that escaped into the exhaust back into the cylinder right as the exhaust port is being covered by the piston. Which is how you get over 100% volumetric efficiency while "on the pipe" in the power range.--------> piston still moving upwards this is your "compression ratio" -------> spark plug ignites and the whole thing is started over again.