Plastic glide plate, What do you think?

Knobbyjake

~SPONSOR~
Jan 29, 2000
I put a Maier plastic skidplate on my '90 KX 500. We have a lot of rocks in Pa. and it worked and held up surprisingly well. I'd use one again.

trailryder

Oct 1, 2004
I've never used plastic in those areas before, My only concern would be hitting rock when/if you were riding in the cold weather...in Maine....that's all we got !!!

KAY DEE EXER

~SPONSOR~
Mar 3, 2003
Where I am in Australia I've never experienced anything colder than about 5 degrees celcius. I never ride when its that cold though... BRRRRRR... I hate cold weather. I like the mid 20s.

BRYDEN1

Sep 22, 2003
For other than pure hard core rock duty, these should be more than enough. The side protection for the waterpump is a neccessity.Ride on :cool:

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999
I'm with BRYDEN1 should be fine. If you don't mind what was the price?

KAY DEE EXER

~SPONSOR~
Mar 3, 2003
:eek: Are you sitting down? :eek:

It was about $100US. It's a lot of money for a piece of plastic I know but heck you only live once and I had a bit of trouble tracking down an aluminium locally anyway. Also it's black to match my fibreglass pipe guard. I am awaiting delivery ATM so I will post a report once I have it and the Race Tech suspension fitted. :cool:

outrgus

Jan 15, 2003
If our looking for a cheaper option, build one out of puck board (the plastic stuff in hockey rinks). I made one four years ago and the thing is still going strong and it's seen many miles of damaging rocks (ask BYRDON1). Four hose clamps and little piece of puck board only cost me $10.00 cdn. also comes in many colors.

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999
That is a lot, but I like that it lookslike it's stock.

GS

Jun 29, 2003
Hi there Outrgus,
Hate to ask, but could you post a pic of this puck board plate of yours. Does it protect the pump? I'm having a little trouble visualizing it....