Power reeds vs torque reeds

ZKDX

~SPONSOR~
Aug 23, 2002
i'm new to the 2-stroke world, and haven't fully grasped the whole reed concept. I have notice that there are Power reeds and Torque reeds available. Is there a difference and if so how do you know what you need. I mean, i need more power and torque and since torque is a measure of work and power is a measure of work....well ****, you see how a newbie might be confused?!!!

Dazza

Jan 1, 2002
canyncarvr is the one to talk to about this.He knows the deal on it all.
You can try and do a search on this topic and I'm sure there will be some info.
I run the power reeds.Haven't had a problem and they seem to last a while.
Do you have a pipe on your bike?
If so what type as there are different pipes available that can increase your torque.FMF, Pro Circuit.

ZKDX

~SPONSOR~
Aug 23, 2002
no pipe as of yet, haven't had bike very long. But would like to get right combo of pipe, reed, jet, etc. (just like everyone else, eh?!)

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
. But would like to get right combo of pipe, reed, jet, etc. (just like everyone else, eh?!)

That sums it up pretty well.

Just like a choice of pipe (-30 rev or -35 torque in the FmF line), choice of reed should 'fit' what the intended use is of the bike.

Reeds will vary in composition..stainless steel, fiberglass, carbon and such. Each one of those compositions has its own characteristic flex, tension and lifespan.

Boyesen power reeds (fiberglass) are generally a good pick if you're just looking for a reed to stick on your oem cage. They last pretty good (yearly replacement isn't a bad idea for reeds of any construction if you ride regularly..carbon moreso than fiberglass), and give a good balance of stiffness (important on the top end rev range) and compliance (good for low end).

IMO ALERT...IMO ALERT...