jakeyz250

Jul 26, 2004
I read a post on here where somebody said something about a special fix that has been done to keep the powervalve from hitting the piston. Can somebody please tell me about it? I believe my powervalve has started hitting, and I am probley going to end up trying different things to fix the stop tabs. But I would like to know of the other fix as well. Thanks :aj:

Oh yeah, how much pressure is put on the stop tabs?

Last edited:

cr2504life

May 17, 2004
I have no experience with the yz valve but i have heard that can file down pv on my cr, expecially if you bore the cylinder. just a thought though

jakeyz250

Jul 26, 2004
Does anybody know what happens when I take out the allen bolt on the left side of the engine, in the power valve stop tab area. Will something come lose inside, and fall down the cylinder. Would it be best if i just took it apart?

DougRoost

~SPONSOR~
May 3, 2001
I sure hope you have a shop manual and know what you're doing on that mechanism, especially since you haven't told anyone on this forum what year/model bike this is!

My main suggestion would be for you to call Eric Gorr before doing anything. He just fixed me up on my KTM 300exc and knows all the nuances of these different engines better than anyone. Click the link off to the left and you'll be able to find his number.

Rcannon

~SPONSOR~
Nov 17, 2001
What year specifically are you talking about?

The powervalve on my 97 is fairly simple. I had a local machien shop grind some of the powervalve away to stop it from hitting. I considered this a temporary fix as it really just covers for worn out parts. It is not enough to just replace the powervalve. You also have to replace the cover.

There are two locating pins that could come loose. I cannot imagine them falling in the engine, but I suppose anything is possible. If you unscrew the hex bolt, the powervalve splits in two.