Eview326

Jul 7, 2003
My forks on my 94 kdx 200 are leaking. I guess they need new seals. Around my area they charge $100 to rebuild forks. Is it worth it to do it myself? Is it even possible? (I'm kinda new to dirtbikes and never taken forks apart.) What ae all the parts i would need?

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
It's always worth it to do it yourself. Chances are you will end up with a better job anyway. I've never had anyone work on any vehicle/gear of mine that something wasn't screwed up. That's not to say I've never done that myself, too...but the warranty on your own work is usually better than the shop 'cross town! (Hopefully).

Seals and sliders will cost some..maybe $20-40 depending on which brand and where you get them. Some of the tools you will need will cost a good bit. A seal driver (motion pro..check rockymountainmc for what you need) is spendy, but you'll use it next time and the time after that.

You can do without that...make up yur own tool with some pvc and some time. My choice was the motion pro piece.

On the 'H' model, you need the socket (a 14mm allen actually) to take the valve out of the bottom. Don't know if the '94 is/is not close to that. That valve will be tough to get out (likely) if you don't have an impact tool to hit it hard/fast with. Hey...that means you have to buy another tool to do the job!! Get yourself a battery operated impact for a few bucks!!

I see tools in your future. YeeHAw!! ;)

Have fun!!

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
...still need a seal driver....

Although it seems that around '94 is when they were upside down for a year or two? I never bothered remembering that cuz it isn't pertinent to me!

Buykawi shows them to be downside up. Well, I think.........

Eview326

Jul 7, 2003
I'm not sure what the difference is in upside down or right side up, but if it helps they don't have the plastic boot on them, the skinnier part of the fork is on the bottom.

Eview326

Jul 7, 2003