AliGee

Sep 4, 2010
I've had a lot of experience on other powersport vehicles but don't have a ton of experience on dirtbikes.

I'm a 5'4" female and weigh around 145lbs? I live in Breckenridge, Colorado at 10,500ft so this bike will rarely go below 8,000ft. I will most definitely do a **** ton of trail riding, but I am not sure how much track riding I'll be doing.

I have been shopping for dirtbikes for quite some time, but never really found a bike that fit "perfectly". Today I came across a used KTM 105 sx and instantly fell in love. It was the PERFECT size and I feel the powerband would be right for me. I really love the idea of a 100 (105sx, kx100, CRF100R Expert).

However, that bike was $2700 and my max budget is around $1500. I want to buy used but it seems impossible to find 100's used. However, it's a piece of cake to find the 125's (kx 125, yz125) used, and it's also relatively easy to find used 85's.

I have also looked into trail bikes like TTR230, but unfortunately bikes like those are also impossible to find used, and I don't have the money to buy new.

If I had to decide between a used 125 or 85, which would be best for me?

I feel like the 125 seat height is too high (perfect is right around 34") and I also feel like it may be too much bike. I want to go for something small and fun... I don't need massive amounts of power. On the other hand, I've been told that an 85 won't be enough power...

I guess I'm frustrated. I'm not going to grow anymore and I know I'm a really awkward height to fit a bike. It's a huge bummer and I'm at a loss of which route to go... I'm 20 years old and I've wanted a bike since before I can remember. I really want to make it happen this summer. :(

Suggestions?

Thank you, thank you!

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
Before you discount the power of an 85, ride one... I was put on my ass several times by one, and I'm a whole person bigger than you..

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009