xharley

Oct 18, 2002
I'm back to the dirt bike scene after a 20 year hiatus (new KX 250). Is it OK to use tire sealants such as slime? I'm not racing or anything...just goofin off (2nd childhood probably). I would never use this stuff in my crotch-rocket...but it would seem on the surface that it wouldn't hurt anything and would same me some money (lots of thorn trees where i ride). Whats the good word?

Faded

~SPONSOR~
Jan 7, 2003
IMHO, being a former tire tech, I would never use the stuff. I've not seen it work well enough or long enough to warrent its use.

Besides, ever change at tire/tube with that stuff in it while it's leaking all over the place? :flame: If it won't hold air I change it.

Just my $.02

DWreck

~SPONSOR~
Apr 14, 2002
I use Slime in my tires on both my MX and mountain bike and have had good results. As Faded stated it is messy. :) It also throws the balance of your wheels off slightly. I only notice this on big jumps, no big deal, just a feeling you get used to. But after dealing with a couple of flats on the trail I decided to try it and haven't had a flat in 3 years. If the bike sits around for a couple of weeks I need to add air but they hold well once I start riding.

MrLuckey

Fire Marshall Ed
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 9, 2000
I haven't had a flat since I started using it along with extra heavy duty tubes. That isn't to say that its necessarily the reason but...

If I was only on a track or not going very far from the truck I wouldn't use it but I don't want to patch a tube or change one way out in the middle of nowhere.

If you use slime - make sure you get the type for tires w/tubes. Moose also markets some orange tire goo.

I haven't seen much of a mess, let the air out, pop the valve core back in while taking the tube out and its pretty clean.

Dirtvet

Jan 23, 2000