Some jetting issues I need clarified please.

fatty_k

~SPONSOR~
Jul 3, 2001
Ok, I am a newbie at jetting but I get the basics. I had a 145 main in and I did a WOT plug chop; it showed lean. I put in a 150 and it looked a little tan, but still a little white. It sounds like its running perfect on top (no sputtering, or bwahhhh'ing) but it dosnt seem to pull very good on top, despite the fact that i have the FMF kg 30 pipe. I am wondering if I should put a richer main in still, just to get the plug nice and tan and be on the safe side. I was running a new BR8EG plug at the time. I also have a burrbling at about 1/4 throttle. I raised the needle all the way to the top position, it helped a bit, but it is still there. My plug looks perfect after I do a 1/4 throttle chop. Should I go to a leaner needle? And if so, how much do they usually cost?
Thanks a bunch.

LWilson250

Jan 1, 2001
I would try going up one more main and dropping the needle.
Then mess with the pilot jet, sounds like you need a slightly larger one.

Lee W.

OLD-N-SLOW

Nov 21, 2000
fatty,
Which bike? If 220 what carb? stock or 35mm?
When I get confused i just go back to stock settings and start over.
1/4 throttle, steady, holding speed blubering sounds like a rich pilot.
When you say "raised the needle to top position" please clarify.
Pointy end of needle being bottom and the end with the grooves being top.
#1 position would be the very top groove making #5 posistion closest to the
sharp end. Want to help, just a little confused.
Steve

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
O&S
You're not confused at all (but..you knew that). You're probably familiar with GIGO? Well, fuzzy-in fuzzy-out gets you the same result.