spark plug eater

YamaB

Apr 2, 2004
I just bought a 99 yz250 and it is going through spark plugs like crazy... It seems to run fine, but after about 30 minutes it just up and dies... Inspecting the spark plug, the end is completely black...

The throttle response seems good and power is very snappy... It "seems" to flatten out a bit at the top of the rpm range, but I'm not sure how it is supposed to feel as this was my 1st time on the bike. It does have a pro-circuit pipe and silencer on it... I am a total noob and don't know a thing about tuning carbs... Any suggestions??

thanks,

Brian

B

biglou

I suggest bringing her over to Lou's Monster Garage! :) Seriously, if you don't get it sorted before the weekend, I'm sure we can find out what's going on. :thumb:

YamaB

Apr 2, 2004
I bought some iridium plugs so I'll see if they help. As for oil, I'm using Klotz R50 oil.

I'm a bit confused on jetting. Does anyone actually sell a jet kit for a dirt bike?? None of the web sites I've seen offer them. Also, there is a main jet, pilot jet, and needle?? What should I start with??

- BA

gwcrim

~SPONSOR~
Oct 3, 2002
Sounds like you need to lean out the pilot and/or needle. Jet kits & expen$ive spark plugs are usually a waste of money, IMO.

If you want to try something on the cheap, try lowering the clip on the needle. But cheap isn't always effective. I'd wager that your pilot jet is too rich.

Find out what pilot jet you have and go about 2-3 sizes smaller, considering how bad your problem is. Once that is done, readjust your idle mixture screw and the idle speed screw.

I'm not sure about your application, but there are plenty of carb tuning guides to be found online. They'll take you step by step through a proper jetting sequence.

YamaB

Apr 2, 2004
Thanks for the advice... I'll probably try to lower the clip (have to research on how to do this), and if that doesn't help I'll change pilot jets... Any chance it could be the main jet??