Stupid Cartridges!!!!

JonB

Jun 1, 2000
O.K. I have an 03 KX250 and I've spent a few hours over the last couple days reading about and looking for the best way to get the cartridges apart. It's not like it's my first time taking cartridges apart either. I modified the mid-valve on my 01 YZ426F. They were difficult to get apart but not impossible. I used lots of heat and a tool made out of PVC.
Well, on the KX cartridges, I have not had any luck. I tried the heat and home made PVC tool with no luck. The cartridge was so hot the PVC tool melted. Then I bought the Motion Pro cartridge tool. Even with lots of heat (I used propane and then Map gas for good measure), smacking the cartridge with a hammer, and using the steel cartridge tool I can't get the stupid things apart.
I was hoping for any other tips for getting these apart. I was thinking of modifying a 1/2" drive socket and using an impact gun. I also live just down the street from Factory Connection and may just bring the cartridges up there to see if they can get them apart.

Thanks, Jon

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000
I had a similar problem on the new KX, you have to get them silly hot-to the point where they are smoking bad, i was concerned the cv or the bushes may be damaged but they worked all season.Dont try to do it any other way-it will rip the threads off.

Ive heard of people unpeening the bottoming cone and refitting it.Never done it myself,but it can be done.

DEANSFASTWAY

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 16, 2002