Suspension and weight of rider question.

travis712

Feb 12, 2005
Hey guys. Ive been looking around for a while at bikes and was wonering a few things, but this question is pretty important. Im 5'11" 220 pounds(yea Im a fat one, well kinda) and I was wondering about 125cc suspension, and actually if i should just get a 250cc with the big tummy of mine. A 125cc is pretty logical because Im not a pro by any means. This is more of a learning bike. What my question is, do I need to get new springs? And, sense I know that will most likely be a yes, how much are they and is it relatively easy to install? Thanks guys, I even tried using proper grammar, woot.

Robin13

Nov 21, 2004
I'd get a 250 if I were you. Look around and find out wich ones have a smooth powerband. It will be less effort to ride than keeping the 125 in the powerband. You can always get a gnarly pipe or flywheel weight or something else to smoothen out the power. About the springs, it all depends on what terrain you ride and and how fast you are too. At 220 you will probably need stiffer springs. It is not that hard to replace springs at all. Look on online stores for prices or ask your dealer who can probably reccomend you a spring rate too. Try out the stock springs first.

snb73

Nov 30, 2003
I would suggest a 250 also. It will have more torque than a 125, definately easier to ride for your weight.

I had a very similar question last week. I was directed to MX-Techs' spring generator to choose the correct spring(s) for my weight.

http://www.mx-tech.com/core.asp

Hope this helps, Steve

i_955

Dec 18, 2004
Throttle control.

Doesn't matter if you are buying a CR80. If you are heavey on the wrist, you are going to gain experience FAST.

I'm on the 250 bandwagon, I just bought my wife a KX250 and an insurance policy. :)

travis712

Feb 12, 2005
i_955 said:
Throttle control.

Doesn't matter if you are buying a CR80. If you are heavey on the wrist, you are going to gain experience FAST.