SX,FMX both take skill..and are hurting our sport.

d.u.g.

May 23, 2003
Why are dirt bike sales 1/6 th of what they were in their late 70's/early 80's peak?Because although attendance is high at events,parents see it,and although fun to watch,it's nothing they want their kids doing.Especially if they check at their local track,and note the hourly ambulance runs.
We have our heads in the sand,folks.My daughter thankfully,is not interested,partially because I have not encouraged it.She rides horses competitevely,also a dangerous,but not "extreme"(gag)sport.It has risks,but the equivalent to supercross type obstacles would have her jumping objects where if they weren't perfectly done resulting in a serious crash,every time.
I have been racing for over 30 years,MX,hare scrambles.etc.I too love the feeling of nailing a big jump.But to do so in a race,in a crowd,with a lot of other amateurs like me,where if the bike hiccups,I screw up ,or someone else does guarenteeing a serious injury...forget it.
Supercross obstacles should be limited to pros only,and hey,have you checked out their injury lists?I think they too may change once a big name pro gets killed or paralyzed.
To have these "extreme"tracks for local amateurs is stupid,and hurts our sport.Eventually the insurance premiums will put an end to them.Then,the simplistic attitude of "I know what the risks are and it's ny business" will have affected us all.
Our sport is,duh,dangerous of course.Dangerous does not have to mean stupid,and to have these tracks at an amateur and kids level is stupid.
I just watched the Spanish GP.FAST track,a couple BIG jumps,but no doubles,triples,or ridiculous whoops.Attendance? 55,000.That track wouldn't be major fun?Lots of 5th gear,70mph.
I also rode the natural terrain track at Mid-Ohio last year.Lots of speed,very close racing,lots of fun,no major injuries all day.Now thats racing,not a freaking pogo stick event. Doug

dklink2000

Damn Yankees
Feb 18, 2002
Originally posted by d.u.g.