sraser

May 31, 2001
I have a buddy who is looking into buying his first bike. I have been helping him look at some different bikes, but I am no expert myself. I know the basic things, such as checking the air filter, chain and sprockets, wheel bearings, etc. What are some other good things to look at or think about when inspecting used bikes? Thanks for the help guys...

Moto Squid

~SPONSOR~
Jul 22, 2002
get the bike on a stand, grab the rear wheel and try to move the swingarm left and right and then up and down. There should be NO play or noises. Make sure the forks don't bind or leak, handlebars are straight, radiators aren't twisted or bent, brake pads aren't really thin, brake fluid isn't black, subframe is straight, starts easy, no clutch drag when it's running. If you can take a compression tester and see what it's at...120 or less and a new top end would be in the works. Bring a helmet and you go ride it...make sure it shifts good, stops fast, runs strong ect. Then buy it if ya like it :thumb:

a454elk

Mexicutioner
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 5, 2001
Check the fork stops and see if they are mashed one way or another. Ride it and make sure it tracks straight. You can check this by riding through a wet sidewalk and then watch the tracking of the front and rear tires as they leave the wet marks on the dry cement. Spin the wheels on a stand and see if the rims are bent too. And the final and most important one, please, I repeat, PLEASE look at the Vin number on the headstock and make sure it hasn't been tampered with, ground or missing and verify the number to see if it matches the number on the Title. Make sure the seller is the same as the owner on the Title. Oh, and don't buy a bike without a Title (California residents). If you want, call me at work when you are looking at the bike and I'll check it on the spot for you to assure it isn't stolen. Good luck

Carlo
714-705-6010

a454elk

Mexicutioner
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 5, 2001