dmount76

Feb 3, 2007
I got into the valve cover last night on a newly purchased 05 CRF 450.
Exhast valves measured perfect, but intake valves were tight. I couldn't even get the .002" feeler in between the cam and shim (although it is pretty hard to push a .002" feeler).

Question -
I didn't tear it down any further to measure the shim that is currenly in there. I know the previous owner had never changed the shims from the factory. Is the stock shim standard so that I can purchase a few shims on either side of added .006" to the factory shim or do I need to tear it down, measure the shim and go from there.

Also - from searching it seems like many of you reccomend new valves if they are tight like this.

What is involved in repalcing the valves? How expenseive?

In case it is not obvious - I've never done this before.

Thanks in advance.

Dallas in Wyoming.

Cabot

Sep 3, 2007
Well, your going to have to take the cam off to replace the shims anways.. so you mine as well do it now so you get the right size shim. Also, some dealers do shim replacements. (so either you just trade shims for no cost, or you trade shims for a discounted cost)
taking the cam off takes about 5 minutes, just make sure you get the timing right when you put it back on!

Valves can be shimmed many times before they need replacement. If your shims are getting really small, then you might want to replace the valves. I'm not quite shir how you would know exactly, but someone else might. Replacing the valves is a pretty expensive job, and more then likely you will have to have a shop do it unless you have the right tools.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Cabot said:
Valves can be shimmed many times before they need replacement.