Cray

Dec 14, 2001
ok i got an old 77yz250, recently rebuilt top end. has cdi ignition. it has a weak spark and fouls plugs left and right, and runs like a turd obviously. i suspect the stator is failing but i dont know how to check it?. i have voltmeters and a little no how but im no expert electrician. anybody got some advice on how to check this stator?..
Cray..

KXKen

Jan 6, 2001
I suggest you buy a service manual.

Also you might want to post this in a different forum like the basic maintence bike repair

David Trustrum

~SPONSOR~
Jan 25, 2001
OK I’ll stop being a smarta%^*&

Do the simple stuff first. Sparkplug, Sparkplug cap, clean or replace airfilter (replace by now) Check that the coil is grounded properly. (clean plug contacts, check with meter etc).

Clean carb out properly esp pilot jet (never poke with wire though). Drain old gas out & check for water replace with fresh if unsure how old.
Wouldn’t hurt to repack the muffler & see how much carbon build up is in the pipe.

Then send the stator to someone to test rewind it. Most checks you do with a simple meter will probably only tell you if it is shorted or open, but the insulation breaks down under heat & causes drama. Check back pages of Dirtybike magazines for a rewinder.

Danman

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 7, 2000
Buy check with a meter he would mean to measure the resistance of the plug wire from the coil to the end were the plug goes. It should be very low. Resistance is the opposition to current. Low resistance = good current = good spark.

A quick check for spark would be to take the plug out and touch the bottom of it to the cylinder. Hold it buy the wire so you don't get a shock. Then kick it a couple of times. You should be able to see the spark. If it is a brite blue that not the problem.

Buy a service manual would be you best bet. It will tell you how to check for spark correctly and give you some good tips for troubleshooting.

David Trustrum

~SPONSOR~
Jan 25, 2001