What bike for my size... ?

Longfellow

Apr 24, 2006
Hi, I am extremely new to the dirtbiking/Motocross "scene". My friend Gunner races in a 125-C class and his dad is an A/B Rider with a 450. I have gone to acouple races with them and get pumped just watching them race and thought about getting into the sport. I am, of course, going to need a bike to do so but have no real idea where to start so here it is...

I am around 6'1 and weight inbetween 190-200 pounds.

I don't exactly know how physical/agressive I would be on a bike since I have never ridden before but I wouldn't be the guy in 3rd the whole track cruising and not hitting any of the doubles. I would, in the beginning, most likely not even consider going for the holeshot but instead try and endup somewhere in the middle if possible and follow someone more experienced while trying to get the feel for the bike. That is after practicing of course, I am sure I would become aggressive after I know my own skill and riding level.

I will be riding mostly on tracks, outdoor, with a dirt starting area, local places you know, and occasionally on trails with friends.

I don't have a single hour of riding experience but I do ride my fiend 4-wheeler weekly. I know you can't compare but atleast I am not new to things that go "vroom" on dirt.

I will probably be racing after practicing with my friend and his dad.

I will... most likely not be doing most of my own work. Simple things on the bike I will do but in the beginning I will bring it to my friends dad or as a last resort a shop.

My mother would PREFER for me to get a Suzuki but I would rather have a bike that is going to work for me.

I have access to any brand/bike.

I would like to spend as little as possible on a bike since I am 16 but that just means I want to stay as stock as possible, something fancy won't help me if I can't use it.