what oil do you run in your 2 strok bottom end?

dnchevyman

Dec 27, 2005
Hey everyone, ive been riding quads for a few years, just picked up my first bike this week. A 2004 YZ 250. Im gonna go through and service it, what type of lower end oil do you use? i was checking out Castrol MX 10-40, its what the yammy dealer mechanic suggested. And i know its been beat to death, but i run a 32:1 ratio in my fuel, is this correct for this bike?

Also, how do i measure fork and rear shock oil levels? What are some other things i need to regularly mantain on a bike beside chain and sprockets? Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks guys.

B.T.W- this bike will be ridden out in the desert in nevada, dunno if that matters or not.

Last edited:

ruffryder19

Sep 14, 2005
All my bikes I run bel ray 80sae.The castrol 10-40 is perfect, just change it every 2 good rides. 32:1 ratio is perfect. Keep the air filter clean, and oily.air bleed the fork tubes, and clean the dust seals once in a while. Grease up the linkage bearings, and head set. My buddy has the same bike, its been raced for 2 seasons, and he just put a new top end in, those bikes can take a beating for sure.

dnchevyman

Dec 27, 2005
change it every 2 good rides????????? ur saying i should change my tranny oil after every 2 rides? im not racing, just playing around in the desert. and what do i remove to bleed the forks? what do you mean by greasing the linkage bearings and head set? sorry for the dumb questions.

njrealtor55

Sep 22, 2005
yes, change the trans fluid every other ride.

i run ATF-type F. my old kx just likes it better. i tried gearsaver on the last ride and the shifting was notchy and i couldn't find neutral easily. so, i am sticking with the ATF. make sure to use the type F or type FA if you use the ATF.

i run 40:1 using amsoil intecepter. works great in everything I own - chainsaw, weedeater, racing jetskis, dirtbikes etc...

shadow171

May 27, 2005