What oil?

John Cena

Nov 11, 2004
Hi Guys I'm new to dirtbiking, I just bought a 92 KDX 200 without a manual I was wondering what kinda oil goes in the black plug behind the kick starter?

Thanks for all help! :cool: Great Site guys!

bcVulcan

Nov 13, 2002
10W-40.Any good name brand from your dealer will be fine. Go ahead and add a full quart if you want. It's different than your four stroke, it won't hurt a thing, and will help reduce noise.

John Cena

Nov 11, 2004
So I can get Quaker State peak performance 10w-40? Gonna go get some gotta get riding not much snow free days left :bang: . I was wondering does anyone use NGK Iridium spark plugs? If so do they make your bike run better then standard plugs?

Thanks again :ride:

Roland C

~SPONSOR~
Nov 20, 2002
Quaker State would work fine in the gearbox. I personally don't think the Iridium plugs make much of a difference, at least not considering how much more expensive they are.

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
Hold on!

Motor oil is fine for the tranny (which is what the black plug behind the kicker plugs up).

Being an older bike, it would be good to use what HAD been used. What came out of it? Or can you even tell?

Lots of riders use ATF in the gearbox. Some use gear oil.

The 'peak performance' part of what you said makes me wonder. If that is a friction modifier supplemented oil, you do NOT want to use that!! Slicker is NOT better when it comes to clutches...and again, there is the 'what was in it before' idea. The mixing of some oils is not a good idea. If what was in there was a full synthetic it would be a good idea to stick to that.

Doubt that.

A fine wire plug will perform better than a fat wire plug. Whether or not you could tell the difference is another matter. I split the difference...An -EG plug is not a whole lotta bucks, and I prefer it considerably over an -ES plug.

John Cena

Nov 11, 2004
Unknown