What to look for in a used XR200?

ghunter

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 24, 2001
I have convinced myself that the best beginner bike for my wife is an XR200. Considering this, I have found several used XRs for sale. The years range from 1981 - 1990. I have some experience with most 2-strokes and some Euro 4-strokes, but none with XRs.

I'll probably replace anything that needs replacing or rebuilding, but would rather have a lower initial investment and replace parts as needed or wanted by my wife. Basically, I want to spend as little as possible for this bike, but want it safe and to be able to re-sell it after my wife grows out of it. So I have a few questions:

1. What years should I avoid and why?
2. Anything in particular that I should look for or specific years that are better?
3. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, but is there anything really difficult or requiring special tools on these bikes?
4. What problems have you had, i.e. getting parts for older XRs, etc.

Thanks in advance for all your input. Now all I have to do is find the right bike for the right price.

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
How tall is your wife and what is her riding ability? From 1981-1991 the XR200Rs have longer suspension, lights, etc. These bikes are also taller. The 84-85 models have four-valve heads and are suppose to make quite a bit of power compared to other models. The post 91 models have shorter suspension and no lights, but they still have a lighting coil. These bikes are basically bullet-proof, except for the 84-85 models, which can have some problems with camshafts, valves and overheating. Good luck in your search.

snaggleXR4

Aug 5, 2001
Hey,
The '84 and '85 models also have the dual carb setupl, which also makes the bike hard to tune. I had an '87 model up until a few months ago, original owner since '88. Old besty was great, NEVER let me down, always got me home, she was a good bike.