JJDirt

Aug 15, 2010
I just redid the engine on my bike, deglazed it replaced the gaskets, piston rings, and o rings. I put all back together but when i went to finish up with adjusting the lever on the power valve i noticed the power valve itself sat one of two ways, 180 degrees different. I'm assuming the concave is either facing in or out, but the manual i have for the bike mentions nothing about where it should sit, it just tells me how to adjust it with the lever.

Anyone able to tell me how it should go?
Ex. Concave in at TDC.

This is my first time tearing down an engine, I don't want to blow a gasket because it isn't sitting right.

JJDirt

Aug 15, 2010
Well I would assume there would be more exhaust when your full out but compression would increase the power so having it closed or partly closed would create more power, I don't know enough to make any bets on it, and the guys at yamaha won't tell me without them ripping the engine apart and assemblying it to "guarantee" it's done right, since I don't have the money for it and I would rather do it myself so I learn, that isn't happening. I'm not even sure if it can be explained or if it depends on certain variables. I'll try to upload some pictures so I can show what I mean.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana