1991 XR250R Smoking after Rebuild

XR400RMan

Dec 11, 2000
Hey everyone, Everything in my Top end is Brand knew, It has been rode maybe 1 1/2 hours since rebuild and has not been ridden hard by no means, It has a Supertrapp exhaust,K&N airfilter and Wiseco Piston, It is smoking badly and I know it can't be something wrong in the top end so is just probably the Piston Rings aren't sealing well yet and is letting some of the oil in the crankcase into the cylinder and burning it? Also I noticed today that where the Exhaust Pipe connects to the Muffler/Spark Arrester that there is oil leaking out and running down to pipe back toward the front of the bike, So my dad thinks that the muffler has oil in it and thats why it is leaking there. So what do you guys think? BTW my XR is an awesome bike. I don't think I would ever buy anything other than a Honda. Thanks again Matt

Last edited:

snaggleXR4

Aug 5, 2001
Hey,
I'm no expert by any means, but, I've seen something like that before. A buddy of mine has a 2-stroke, he put in a new top end, and ended up blowing the seals in his tranny, allowing the tranny oil up into the cylinder. Granted, 2-stroke motors are totally different, but keep an eye on your oil level very carefully. Furthermore, with blown, or totally misadjusted valves could cause your bike to burn oil. It seems to me, on higher mileage/hour motors, changing one part, like the top end, puts added stress on the other already weakened parts. This often times causes failures in these other parts.

Did the smoking start first thing after the rebuild, or did you get a bit of normal riding in before the smoke poured out? If it started first thing, I would check your valves, and valve stem seals. If it ran fine, but then all of a sudden started smoking, then I'm guessing you have at least a blown seal in your tranny, allowing oil to be sucked up into the combustion chamber. Furthermore, if you did not hone your cylinder, then maybe your ring just can't seat.