purplefury

Jun 5, 2010
i just finished rebuilding my rm 125 motor was wondering if anyone can tell me the best way to break it in as i have never done it before. I was thinking of just cruising around till i used like 2 tanks of gas, then slowly work my way up to full throttle with with the third tank.

wake_rider

Feb 21, 2007
purplefury said:
i just finished rebuilding my rm 125 motor was wondering if anyone can tell me the best way to break it in as i have never done it before. I was thinking of just cruising around till i used like 2 tanks of gas, then slowly work my way up to full throttle with with the third tank.

You just need to heat cycle the new piston a few cycles while running rich premix ratio.

-Run 16:1 premix

-Run your bike 1/4 throttle until it's well warm (15 min or so) then shut it off.

-Change oil.

-Run your bike up to 1/2 throttle till warm (again 15 min) then shut off.

-Change oil.

-Run bike normally with incremental runs of full-throttle until hot (20 min or so), shut off.

-Change oil

-Now drain remaining 16:1 premix, mix premix to your normal mixture, put in fresh sparkplug, and enjoy your fresh top-end!

BTW: While running through the heat-cycles, don't allow your bike to idle for any extended period of time. You're trying to saturate your piston rings with pre-mix oil and allowing them to seat into place while your piston goes through it's first expand/contract cycles by heating and cooling.

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
wake_rider said:
You just need to heat cycle the new piston a few cycles while running rich premix ratio.

-Run 16:1 premix

-Run your bike 1/4 throttle until it's well warm (15 min or so) then shut it off.

-Change oil.

-Run your bike up to 1/2 throttle till warm (again 15 min) then shut off.

-Change oil.

-Run bike normally with incremental runs of full-throttle until hot (20 min or so), shut off.

-Change oil