HomeMadeSin

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 20, 2001
I did a search on "gear noise" and it seems there are lots of theories, mostly revolving around piston slap or other components. My 96 CR500 has what I would call gear noise, like that usually associated with straight-cut gears. The frequency seems too high to be piston slap, but I'm new to either so I don't know. I've got good compression (100 psi at 6,000 feet ASL or 13.5 psig or so in). The bike has always done it (bought used 2 years ago), but I can only hear it near idle (pipe noise overtakes at higher rpms?). The engine is un-molested and unless there was a reason to go into it I'd like to keep it that way.

I am planning on selling it and don't like sayin' "its always sounded like that".

SULLY

Apr 17, 2002
Can't comment on 500's, but have had experience of smaller MX'rs and have found that often unexplained gearbox noise is down to the clutch basket. If you think about it it's a large rotating mass that is pretty much unbalanced -the clutch plates are not made to such tolerances that you could call them 'balanced', and they wear anyway which will make them even more unbalanced. The clutch basket bearings are usually fairly sloppy fit - they have to be to allow for some play/backlash and all in all in my experience this adds up to NOISE!, but nothing to worry about. It also tends to sound worse at low revs. when there is less load on everything, allowing for more slop.....could be this is your noise?

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000
MX engines make horrible noise at idle, another reason is if they have a metal water pump gear , the plastic are quieter but more fragile.

Studboy

Thinks he can ride
Dec 2, 2001
If you pull in the clutch at idle, does the sound go away?

baxterj787

Oct 4, 2001