Brian_V

Jun 22, 2005
I just got a 2003 KX 250 (brand new, dealer leftover). I'm new to 2 strokes, and am trying to get it set up for racing enduros. So far I've done this:

- acerbis bark busters
- moose skid plate
- 9 oz flywheel weight
- spark arrestor
- carbon fiber pipe guard
- couple extra teeth in the back

I'm up in Colorado, and ride between 5 and 13K' elevation. What else do people recommend for setting up a bike for off-road? How are the radiators on this bike? Is it a big problem breaking them? Does anyone know of a company that makes good, relatively inexpensive rad guards for it?
I also put an ngk b8es spark plug in it (auto), and it seems to run fine. I know people are mighty particular about plugs, any harm in using an auto plug (or just the wrong plug in general)?
What do people do with the suspension for enduros? Can the stock ones be made to work, or is there a noticeable difference getting the suspension worked? (I'm about 210 with gear).

Thanks for any and all help, I sure do love this bike so far.

VB Racing

~SPONSOR~
Jan 26, 2004
I would definately put radiator braces on it at the very least, they are cheap insurance. If I were you i would also invest in a revalve, it will work wonders for the rideability of the bike. I would also use a resistor type plug to eliminate any "noise" from the secondary ignition. It can mess with the electronics of the bike. I don't believe it will cause any damage, BUT I put a non resistor plug in my 01 KX for a heat race(fouled a plug at the last second) and the bike developed a high speed miss until I changed it out for a resistor plug. I did run a non resistor plug in my 125 and it didnt seem to affect it.
A resistor type plug does not affect the spark at all, just eliminates RF interference.
I like my Kx's for off road riding, (hare scrambles & enduro's). The motor is well suited to that type of riding in my opinion. :cool:

Dave

James980

Dec 29, 1999