salamander99

Sep 6, 2023
1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)
me - 5'10" , 170lb
wife - 5'2", 120lb

2) How physical / aggressive are you?
My wife - not at all. Me - once I get comfortable I might push the limits

3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or?
I'm looking for something casual that my wife and I can use on our trails and the occasional short ride on the road to the gas station. Safety, comfort and riding distance are priorities. We live on a 1200 foot ridge, so trails can be steep and rocky. Need technique and a little power I think.

4) Do you have any riding experience?
I have no motorcycle experience whatsoever and know absolutely nothing about them. I do drive a polaris ranger xp1000 trail boss on my trails here, use a kubota L3902 tractor here, etc.

5) Do you think you will race?
Definitely not.

6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?
No, not really.

7) Do YOU have a preference to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?
Nope.

8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
Looks like Yamaha, Honda, KTM and Kawasaki dealers are within 30 minutes.

9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike?
Ideally around $5,000 or less.

10) Your age?
Early 40s.

11) Do you live in California?
Nope.

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
CRF from Honda and TTR lines from Yamaha are pretty good trailbikes. The CRF230 or TTR250 may work for you and the TTR125 works well for the wife or even CRF150 (not the race version). I had a CRF150 for my first wife back in 2005 and it was a great bike and a lot of fun.