P-Funk

Apr 15, 2008
I'm still new to dirt biking and I've been trying to locate areas closer to me that I can go somewhat quickly and get some riding in during the week. With a wife & 2 kids I don't always have time to hit up Barstow, Hungry Valley, etc. Anyway, I saw these spots as I was driving along the 60 in Riverside. Are they rideable, and more importantly, are they legal?

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=e...55516963454459.00044e39918d069725cb5&t=k&z=14

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=e...55516963454459.00044e39a09b251fcea7d&t=k&z=15

kelsorat

Knucklehead Newbie
Nov 5, 2001
My guess is no. Unless an area is designated and posted for off- highway use then you are taking chances on getting a citation.

If it's private land, then no way.

P-Funk

Apr 15, 2008
That's kind of what I figured. But if there are no "private land", "NO TRESPASSING", etc. signs then I'm good to go?

kelsorat

Knucklehead Newbie
Nov 5, 2001
Well no. Up here where I live in Northern LA county there are lots of spots like those you googled and they are not marked with signage, but you will still get chased off. If those spots were up here I might be able to lend some advice, but I'd say it is best to wait and see if any of our OC dwellers will chime in with some input.
Telling the law that you didn't see any signs posted will not get you very far.

sick 96 250

Damn Yankees
Jul 16, 2004
check and see if there is a webiste just for cal riders, every state seems to have them and normally can tell you where is legal and where isnt.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
sick 96 250 said:
check and see if there is a webiste just for cal riders, every state seems to have them and normally can tell you where is legal and where isnt.

Here is such a site with public lands. Private tracks are not shown.

http://www.employees.org/~calridng/home.html

I don't think those areas are 'legal' riding areas. If you are very lucky, you might be able to ride there hassle free (knock on wood).