rzarock

Sep 27, 2005
I just bought a 2000 YZ250 from my brother in law as he left the country to pursue his new career. It was a steal at $500 so I couldn't pass it up. It seems to be in great shape. He was the original owner and maintained it regularly. It was never raced (hardly ever ridden actually), has a FMF Fatty pipe, Shorty silencer and a new top end. It fires up on the first kick and has plenty of power.
My problem is that I'm new to dirtbikes (especially 2-strokes) as I have been riding 4-stroke quads for the last 3 years. I don't race. I only ride trails in the deserts of southern Arizona and have had a few problems with the bike. The trails I ride vary in terrain. Some are fast washes and dusty roads, others are slow hill climbs and technical mountain trails. My questions are as follows:

1. Is it normal for a 2-stroke to run rough while maintaining speed? It seems like the only time the engine runs smooth is when I accelerate.

2. Is it normal for plugs to foul after riding for approximately 5-6 hours under slow speeds (1st and 2nd gear mostly)?

3. Is it even realistic to expect this type of machine to perform under trail conditions or is this more like delivering mail with a top fuel dragster?

4. Is there anything I can do to make this bike trail worthy and reliable?

I don't want to get rid of the bike but if it can't do what I need it to do I guess I'll have to. As I stated above I ride a 2000 Honda 400EX and never have any problems. I just change the oil, gas up and go. I never stalls or fouls plugs and it's great on the trails.

DLHamblin

May 27, 2005
rzarock said:
1. Is it normal for a 2-stroke to run rough while maintaining speed? It seems like the only time the engine runs smooth is when I accelerate.

2. Is it normal for plugs to foul after riding for approximately 5-6 hours under slow speeds (1st and 2nd gear mostly)?