regal21guy

Jan 14, 2008
Hey guys i am in the market for a jet ski and was just wondering what a good brand to go with is ? also when i go out to look at one what should i be looking at ? Any info would be very much appreciated because i really dont know what to look at for i am new to the jet ski thing . :coocoo:

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
I'd say since Jet Ski was a brand of Kawasaki, I'd go with Kawasaki..

And, then, as this is DIRTrider.net and not jetskirider.net, you're not likely to get a lot of good advice about things not DIRTBIKE related.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
IndyMX said:
And, then, as this is DIRTrider.net and not jetskirider.net, you're not likely to get a lot of good advice about things not DIRTBIKE related.
:coocoo:

What kind are you looking for? Stand up? Sit down? What kind of $ are you wanting to spend?

Hard to beat a Yamaha, I always thought they were very dependable. What ever you do, stay away from a Sea Doo with a 720, 650, 580. The 800's were pretty reliable. Look for any type of fiberglass repair jobs, take a look at all the fuel/water lines. Any cracking etc..

Any questions let me know, years ago I worked at a shop, I don't know much about the new ski's, but have worked on alot of the older ones, especially Sea Doo's if that tells you anything :cool:

Rick

tcuda499

~SPONSOR~
Dec 2, 2007
I agree with Rickyd. Yamaha makes some great skis and are very reliable.Sea Doo might have a slight edge on performance though. Definetly what ever one you find check compression. That will tell you alot. Also if its been in fresh or salt water. Salt water needs to be flushed out after every ride. Lastly 2 srtoke or 4 srtoke? Big difference and money.

junkjeeps

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 24, 2001