Spearo

Mar 30, 2007
Hey everyone. Im brand new to motorcycles. I want to ride on the street, but my parents are understandably against it, our compromise was for me to start in the dirt. Any advice you could give me would be greatly apprecited...keep in mind I know nothing.

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)
6' 2" ~180lbs
2) How physical / aggressive are you ?
not very aggressive, but I love to drive my car fast!
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????
Mainly open desert riding, trail riding, maybe some trips to pismo (sand dunes)
4) Do you have any riding experience?
no
5) Do you think you will race ?
no
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?
yes
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?
I think I would prefer a 4 stroke, as far as brand I just want reliability without breaking the bank.
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
Yes dealers are nearby, that have everything. Im looking to buy a used bike.
9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike?
Under 4 grand, I really dont know how much is reasonable.
10) Do you live in California?
yup, been a member of the PRK all my life
11) anything else that you think would help form an opinion
If something is available that I could make street legal eventually, without sacrificing too much performance off road, that would be a big plus.

Thanks in advance!

Jan 3, 2007
The Honda XR400, and XR600 would be a good choice because they are reliable, great desert bikes and you can make them street legal fairly easy. Also, the old Yamaha IT series are great old bikes with lots of power for a fair price.

Blackcat

Mar 9, 2007