My 99 yz400f is really hard to start(PLEASE HELP)it takes like a million kicks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CR_RIDER

Aug 4, 2007
I just got it yesterday and rode it down the street once and seemed to run fine.It was at night and the header was glowing orange!Is that bad?when im in my garage and I try to start it.It smells like gas real bad!Is it running rich?oh yeah and when it backfires when it first starts it shoots a blue flame out of the rear pipe!Is this bike just all f**ked up or is it typical 4-stroke?I am new to them and would like to know some tips!

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Assuming your bike isn't a complete POS, this might help.

This was originally posted on the Yamaha USA website around the time the YZ250F first came out.

To further enhance the enjoyment of these products, please follow the step-by-step instructions as explained by Doug Dubach, Four-Stroke Motocross Champion and Yamaha test rider. These helpful tips will ensure quick and easy starting of your Yamaha four-stroke motorcycle.

COLD ENGINE STARTING:
1.Make sure the bike has fuel, then turn on fuel petcock.
2.Pull out choke knob (black knob on left side of the carburetor).
3.Prime the engine by giving the throttle two full turns (only if the bike has not been started in a day or two).
4.Apply firm pressure to the kick-starter with your foot until you hit distinct resistance (this is the compression stroke/hard spot).
5.While keeping pressure on the kick-starter, pull in the compression release lever and push the kick-starter past the compression stroke/hard spot. The kick-starter needs to only move about 1 to 2 inches past the hard spot. That is all!
6.Release the compression release lever and return the kick-starter to the top
7.Now, kick to start. Do not touch the throttle, as the engine will start and idle on it's own
8.If the bike does not start, repeat steps 4 through 7 only until the engine starts.

HOT ENGINE STARTING