Newbie questions-off road racing

BIF

Aug 14, 2002
I am pretty new to the dirt bike scene although I have had streebikes and quads. I am really loving the dirtbike, I bought a KTM 525 exc, because it is green stickered for CA. Anyway, I would really like to get into some type of off-road racing. My first question is what are the specifics of the different types of racing (enduro, hare scrambles, etc.) And then, what is the best way to actually get started?

I'm a 31 year old rookie, so I'm probably not going to be the next Rodney Smith or anything, just want to get into some amateur stuff. (Rodney's wife cuts my hair.) Anyway, thanks for your help.

Dave Wood

~SPONSOR~
Aug 8, 2000
Information on upcoming events in Northern California and Northern Nevada can be found at AMA/D36 You can download the rulebook as well.

I would suggest that you enter the Sawmill Enduro on April 12 at Upper Lake. They have a new trail ride class, no Timekeeping, just follow the arrows for a marked trail ride. Try to pace yourself to finish the ride. This will give you an idea of your stamina and give you the opportunity to ride a "marked" course. Once you have finished an Enduro, then consider trying to keep time. I would encourage you not to purchase an enduro computer at first. You will need an odometer and a watch/clock you can read and a route holder, (available at sign-up). I and many other riders will be happy to explain Timekeeping, it is not as complicated as many try to make it.