Kootenaycat

Feb 27, 2002
Does anyone else get this problem? After riding for a half hour or so, my fingers get tingly, then become numb if I don't stop. I'm a mechanic, so working with air tools all day probably doesn't help. I wear good riding gloves, but still have the problem. Any ideas?

jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
Could be that you have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. If the following explanation of it sounds like you then do an internet search for it on http://www.infoseek.com and you'll see various treatment therapies available including magnets, wrist braces (to let the agitated area rest), etc.
>
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (CTS) is a painful and sometimes disabling condition involving the compression of the median nerve as it passes through the carpal tunnel, a rigid compartment formed by the carpal bones of the hand at the base of the palm. The tunnel is bounded on the top by a sheath-like or fibrous structure called the flexor retinaculum and the transverse carpel ligament. The tunnel itself is approximately the diameter of the index finger and must accommodate the passage of nine flexor tendons, the median nerve, arteries and lymphatic vessels. Normally, these structures glide past each other to provide function to the fingers and wrist.

What are the Symptoms of Carpal Tunnel Syndrome?

The condition usually comes on gradually, with a vague aching of the wrist, and some times above and below the wrist. There may also be a tingling into the area supplied by the median verve. This includes the thumb, the first two fingers and half of the third finger. If the condition is not resolved the long-term effects can be permanent nerve damage resulting in numbness and weakness in the hand with atrophy or wasting of the muscles below the wrist.