kev_rm

~SPONSOR~
Jun 7, 2002
My wife is interested in taking some private lessons for learning to trail ride. Are there any reputable outfits or teachers in western washington?

Highbeam

~SPONSOR~
Jun 13, 2001
Hmmmm, my very unproductive answer is that she, like all of us had to, needs to get out and try it. Kinda like mowing the lawn, once you know how to run the machine go practice.

kev_rm

~SPONSOR~
Jun 7, 2002
Generally the lawn mower doesn't cause bruises and broken bones, but I think the main problem is I'm a terrible teacher.

Hondaxrguy

May 17, 2001
I remember Sharla (firecracker22) took an offroad riding class that was taught by a female rider. You might want to PM or E-Mail her about it. I can't remember the lady's name.

Jeremy

bbbom

~SPONSOR~
Aug 13, 1999
I believe the class Firecracker took was the Debbie Mathews class but it's an MX class. I think they had some classes in various locations but apparently, the schedule isn't available yet, more info here:

http://www.dmsports-wsmx.com/

Some of the girls that rode the ISDE back in 02 have held a couple womens riding classes geared more towards trails in Oregon but I haven't heard anything on that since the last one in June of 03 and none of the women that were involved seem to be on the site anymore.

Dave Woods holds a trail riding class that I've read some good reviews on - he's in California, here is a thread on a recent class:

http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=91390&highlight=Dave+Woods

But, like Highbeam said - the best thing to do is just ride. It seems very intimidating at first but as long as she's geared up and has a bike that is reasonable for her to control there shouldn't be much of a chance of broken bones. If she's seriously worried about bruises then she better reconsider her choice of sports. There will be bumps and bruises, even with an expert teacher guaranteed! I don't think I've ever participated in any type of sport without getting some bruises.