Question about 2 strokes v.s. 4 strokes

XMotoX

Oct 23, 2006
I was under the impression that 2-stroke engines required more maintenence than 4-stroke engines. One of my friends who rides a CR80 said that you he has to rebuild his engine every season. You don't have to do this with 4-strokes, right?

But, I've heard on here a few times, people saying that if you don't mind doing alot of engine maintenence, then get a 4-stroke. This confused me because I thought 2-strokes were the ones that got worked on more.

I am a total beginner when it comes to this kind of stuff so I want to know what type of bike would be best for a beginner maintenence-wise. Would a 2-stroke or a 4-stroke be better if you have no clue what you are doing?

Can someone help me clear this up?

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
I was under the impression that 2-stroke engines required more maintenence than 4-stroke engines.
Nope. Maybe old 4-t trail bikes, play bikes and XR's are bullet proof, but, the new high-tech 4-T's require more maint.

if you don't mind doing alot of engine maintenance, then get a 4-stroke.
define "a lot". Changing oil and checking valve clearance? Still, more (typically) than a 2-stroke.

I am a total beginner when it comes to this kind of stuff so I want to know what type of bike would be best for a beginner maintenence-wise
A 2-stroke.

Octane250F

Uhhh...
Oct 21, 2006
Its kind of a toss up, IMO.
On a 4-stroke you will be changing oil and adjusting valves (although they go quite a long time before you need to adjust the valves and its a pretty easy job to do) but on a 2-stroke you will be doing topend rebuilds on a fairly regular basis.
Also, with a 2-stroke you have to premix the gas because they dont have oil injection.

XMotoX

Oct 23, 2006
Alright. Thanks for the info.