motobarr

Feb 7, 2006
I have a brand new stock 05'Yamaha YZ250. Not knowing much about race fuel-how many different brands of race fuel are there? How much in general is the best and cost per gallon? Also which brand of pump gas( as an alternative to race fuel) has the highest octane? Is there a premix that works best with one or the other? or it doesn't matter? I apperciate everyones advice and knowledge. Thanks

bobby bo

Mar 4, 2004
i might be wrong but having a stock yz250 running race you will see no improvement, you'll be waisting money. you need race gas when you take your compression up. just use 93 pump gas with a good premix and you'll be fine..

+30

Aug 2, 2005
Im not a fuel expert but as i understand it, the non-oxygenated race fuels like c12 will have little effect on horsepower but are a good quality fuel and you know what your getting vs the pump.You can burn through some big money trying fuels and trying to jet for different types. The oxygenated fuels are reported to increase hp and most riders report increase in throttle response. I have been using mr2 and u2 in my stock motors. It may be just me but the mr2 seemed to be a little more effort to jet for than the u-2. I have been able to use pump fuel for practice and u2 for racing without any significant jetting issues. the stuffs not cheap but then neither is pump gas...and then theres the smell...youll either love it or hate it.

Sep 2, 2005
The newer YZ250 do tend to knock on pump fuel. Me and my brother run 40/60 race pump mixture in our YZ250 this is all it takes to stop the pinging and you will gain power due to the none audible pinging being gone.

rbn14

Jun 16, 2005
My YZ was knocking a bit also, I run 50/50 with pump gas and SUNOCO 110. I think any brand race fuel will be fine, just use what you can get a good price on.

psalm3124

Apr 21, 2005