Anthony M

Sep 13, 2005
Ive searched for everything I can about Showa rebuilds but I cant find much of an answer to my problem. On my '01 RM125 the right side fork's rebound adjuster will not turn. I just got finished taking the fork off flipped it upside down and took the rebound adjustment 'centerbolt' off the fork. I made sure I had the correct measurements for the locknut to centerbolt length according to the manual.

With the centerbolt removed, the problem is that the push rod will not turn. When I thread the centerbolt onto the inner rod, the adjustment screw stays in place, and the centerbolt spins around it.

This is my first time working on Showa's, what should I check for?

Thanks
Anthony

allthingsdirt

Jun 6, 2007
I realize this is an old thread but I'm having the EXACT same problem. Just put new seals in both forks. Both rebound adjusters turned out fine but when I put it back together the right side one is locked in place.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

btw. mine's on an 01 cr250

Anthony M

Sep 13, 2005
FWIW, I was never able to fix this problem. I ended up buying a used set of forks cheap off *bay because I wasn't sure what would have needed replaced in the broken one.

If anybody else could be of more help, I would appreciate an answer as well!

allthingsdirt

Jun 6, 2007
It can't be anything too major. The adjuster worked fine two days ago when I took the fork apart to change the seals. Now when I put it back together it wont budge?? The frustrating part is, I didn't even have to touch the part that's now froze up in order to service the forks :bang:

Mar 25, 2008
Y'all,