Transmission oil, What is everyone using?

cb2honk

Jul 25, 2006
I just got a 2006 ktm 300 xc-w. I was wondering what people with similar bikes are using for transmission oil?? If you have any knowledge you would like to share that would be great!

mojonito

Aug 24, 2005
castrol type f atf

DavidVolk

Jul 26, 2006
I have a rekluse in my 525 SX, and after having problems starting it in gear, I called Rekluse and they told me to run Shell Rotela T 15/40 Diesel oil. Diesel oil? I asked. YES! And, I have to tell you, it is cheap, and it works well with a wet clutch.

cb2honk

Jul 25, 2006
Thanks for all the feedback! What do you guys think about Maxima MTF 75wt,80wt,85wt or Castrol atf type f. The reason for my questions is I just want what's best for my bike. The manual recommends Motorex 15-50, but i'm not sure if I want to use a motor oil. Thanks for your help, I'm kind of new to the dirt bike world.

billtx

~SPONSOR~
Dec 22, 2002
You will be fine with Maxima. i sue the 80W in my 200SX.

You can always call the Maxima tech support line with questions, they are very helpful.

Masterphil

DRN's Resident Lunatic
Aug 3, 2004
cb2honk said:
I just want what's best for my bike.
Good luck finding an answer for that... Here's why ATF type F is best for me:
It's cheap.
I can buy it just about anywhere that sells anything.
I only use my oil/gearbox lube for 2-6hrs(or one race) before I dump it. Since it's so cheap I can afford to do this.
Type F ATF makes my KTM's clutch feel better than all gear oils/dino motor oils/syn motor oils/syn ATF that I've tried.
It made my KTM's tranny seem to shift smoother than all the other stuff I tried.
Did I mention that it's cheap!